The Task Force

The Peninsula Rail Task Force was formed in early 2013 by a partnership of local authorities, business representation organisations, universities and Travel Watch South West. Its aim is to coordinate partners from across the South West to build and put the case for greater investment into the rail network for Cornwall, Devon, Plymouth, Somerset and Torbay.

It has been selected by the Government as the representative body to identify and recommend strategic and local rail improvements up to 2034 (the end of the national rail funding control period 8) to Ministers. It is advised by the Department for Transport and Network Rail

The members of the Peninsula Rail Task Force are:

  • Cornwall Council
  • Devon County Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • Somerset County Council
  • Torbay Council
  • Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership
  • Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership

The Task Force has a Board, which oversees the work of the partnership, comprising the LEPs and local authorities. It also has a Stakeholder Advisory Group, open to anyone with an interest in rail, to inform the work of the Task Force. The Group includes MPs, train operating companies, bus operators and special interest groups.